Functionality to automatically save the user shopping cart has been active for a while already. Saving the content of the shopping cart gives the customer the opportunity to start preparing an order, and then continue at a later time or switch to a different device, f.ex switch from a mobile to a PC.
A saved shopping cart will be automatically emptied either when the products are ordered OR after being saved for 4 weeks.
We’ve now also added an email reminder ‘Your shopping cart at <Portal name> has been saved, and is waiting for you to return..’ which will be sent to the customer 2 days after the shopping cart containing content was abandoned. This email includes a link which directs the customer directly to the shopping cart making it easy to complete the order.